Whereas, Valley Hospitality Services, LLC constructed and opened a 102 room hotel facility known as the Fort Benning Hampton Inn (“the Project”) as described in the attached project description;

Whereas, the recently enacted Georgia Tourism Development Act (“the Act”), now codified as O.C.G.A. 48-8-270, et seq., allows new tourism attractions as defined by the Act to apply to the Department of Community Affairs for approval to enter into a ten (10) year agreement to receive the sales tax refunds permitted by the Act;

Whereas, the approval of the Project as a tourism attraction for purposes of the Act requires a resolution from each applicable local governing authority endorsing the tourism attraction project. O.C.G.A. 48-8-274(b)(7);

Whereas, the Rules of the Georgia Department of Community Affairs, require a public hearing to obtain comments on the project before obtaining the endorsement resolution of the local government. Rule of the Georgia Department of Community Affairs 110-32-1.03;

Whereas, a public hearing on the endorsement of the Project was noticed by publication in the Columbus Ledger-Inquirer on February 4, 2014, and the matter was opened for public comments at a regularly scheduled business meeting of Columbus Council on February 11, 2014;

Whereas, the project description and other application materials have been circulated to the Council for review, and Council has heard any and all public comments to be made on this matter;

It is hereby resolved that, this Council hereby endorses the Project for application to the Commissioner of Community Affairs for State sales tax refunds in accordance with O.C.G.A. 48-8-274(7); provided however, the only sales tax refunds sought in the application process shall be of the 4% State Sales and Use Tax and shall not include any refund of any locally imposed Sales and Use Tax or any other taxes or fees levied by the Columbus Consolidated Government.


Introduced at a regular meeting of the Council of Columbus, Georgia held on the 11th day of February, 2014, and adopted at said meeting by the affirmative vote of ______ members of Council.

Councilor Allen voting________________.
Councilor Baker voting_______________.
Councilor Barnes voting_______________.
Councilor Davis voting________________.
Councilor Henderson voting___________.
Councilor Huff voting_________________.
Councilor McDaniel voting_____________.
Councilor Pugh voting________________.
Councilor Thomas voting______________.
Councilor Woodson voting_____________.

______________________________ _____________________________